Friday, 18 December 2015

Dramatic!! 2,000 APC members defect to PDP

The defection of over 2,000 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC), to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Bayelsa state has been greeted with joy in the camp of the Governor Seriake Dickson.

According to Governor Seriake Dickson, the defection of over 2,000 APC defectors in the state marks the gradual winding up of the APC in Bayelsa state, Vanguard reports.

While receiving the defectors alongside chieftains of the PDP in Yenogoa, the state capital, Governor Dickson said that the PDP’s umbrella was big enough to accommodate them.

Dickson said: “The action of more defectors from the APC to the PDP was an indication of the fact that the machinations of the APC have been exposed as displayed in the governorship election in the state.
“This ceremony of receiving APC defectors is most significant, because it signals the winding up of APC in Bayelsa state, which is known as operation winding up APC in Bayelsa. I listened to your reasons for being deceived into the APC fold, so you all shall be carried along in the new government and as your fathers, we believe you have not done anything wrong.
“Similarly, as the governor of the state, I am prepared to receive everyone, and all political parties, including defectors from the APC and Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM) unconditionally.”

Following indications that the political arena was thickening with hate and indifference in Bayelsa state, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) moved swiftly to nullify Saturday’s governorship election in the region.

According to INEC, the election was nullified due to violence in the area, the abduction of electoral officials and ballot box snatching in Southern Ijaw local government area.

The election will be conducted in due date at the affected local government area which is one of the state’s eight LGAs.
However, results already announced have it that the PPD’s candidate Governor Seriake Dickson is clearly leading in the poll.

He has so far won six of the seven local government areas announced by INEC and has picked up 105,748 votes.

But with his biggest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva of the APC securing victory in Brass local government area and with a total vote of 72,594, the race to state government House is down to the wire as a landslide victory in Southern Ijaw local government area will ultimately decide who emerges as the next Bayelsa state governor for either of these two.

1 comment:

  1. Politicians are so funny. they are acting like tom and jerry. who be tome, who be jerry ?